How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

Related

Discord, originally created to cater to gamers’ needs, can also be used by other people. Apart from Whatsapp, Discord is one of the easiest texting apps available. But what if you don’t want to use Discord anymore? I won’t question your reasons or be judgmental about them. Instead, I’ll tell you how to permanently delete your discord account. 

For those of you who don’t know, Discord is a popular user-friendly texting app. It offers a variety of features to its users. For example, if you’re concerned about your identity, you can use a false name/ nickname to create your account. You can join servers to chat, and Discord even gives you a number of ways to manage your server. 

But that’s enough about how popular or cool Discord is. It has a few cons too. So, maybe you’re concerned about your safety on large servers? Or you don’t like the video chat function of Discord and would like to switch to some other app? Or put, Discord doesn’t cater to your needs well. It’s okay, I’ll help you in getting rid of your Discord account. Just make sure to read this article till the end.  

Here’s How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account! All Related Queries Answered Here!

Enlisted below are some simple and easy-to-follow steps that will help you in deleting your account. I have also answered some questions regarding account deletion that you might find useful. So, scroll down to put all your queries to rest!

Also, Read | How To Add Bots To Discord Servers?

1# How To Permanently Delete Discord Account On Desktop Or The Web?

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

The process of deleting your Discord account on Desktop or Web is easier than you can imagine. Follow the steps given below:

  • Launch Discord.
  • Login to the account you wish to delete. 
  • At the bottom, click on the “User settings” in the left-hand corner. It’s a gear icon present next to your account name. 
  • When user settings open, go to the first setting that says “My Account.”
  • At the bottom of the “My Account,” you’ll get the “Delete Account” option in red. 
  • Click on it. 

Now, if you own a server on Discord, you’ll be first asked to transfer its ownership to someone else. 

Here’s how to transfer ownership:

  • Go to the server that you own. 
  • Right-click and go to the server settings.
  • This will lead you to server members. 
  • Find or locate the person you wish to transfer the ownership to. 
  • Hover your cursor over their name, and you’ll see three vertical dots beside their name. 
  • Click on the dots, and a bunch of options will appear, like Mute, Disable Video, Transfer Ownership, etc. 
  • Select the “Transfer Ownership” option. 
  • Click “Confirm.” 
  • This will transfer the ownership of the server to that member. 

Once you’ve transferred the ownership, you can go back to “My Account.”After having removed yourself from the ownership of all the servers that you run, Discord will allow you to delete your account. 

2# How To Permanently Delete Discord Account On Mobile?

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

Follow the below-mentioned steps to permanently delete your Discord account on your mobile phone:

  • Open Discord. 
  • In the right-hand corner at the bottom, your profile image will appear. 
  • Tap on the profile image. 
  • A bunch of options will appear. 
  • Select the second option that says “Account.” 
  • After that, scroll down to the bottom of “Account” and find the “Delete Account” option in red. 
  • Tap on the “Delete Account” option. 

If you’re the owner of some server, you will first have to transfer the ownership. If not, you can delete your account. 

Here’s how to transfer ownership:

  • Go to the server that you own. 
  • Click the three dots that appear next to the server. 
  • Click “Settings.” 
  • This will lead you to server members. 
  • Find or locate the person you wish to transfer the ownership to. 
  • Click on the three vertical dots beside their name. 
  • Click on the dots, and a bunch of options will appear, like Mute, Disable Video, Transfer Ownership, etc. 
  • Select the “Transfer Ownership” option. 
  • Click “Confirm.” 
  • This will transfer the ownership of the server to that member. 

After you have removed yourself from the ownership of any/all of your Discord servers, you can delete your account. 

3# How To Permanently Delete Discord Account For Someone Who Has Died?

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

If you have to delete the Disord account of someone who has died, you can use the username and password to their account if you have it. Then, you can follow the above-mentioned steps on your chosen device. 

But if you don’t have the username or password of the deceased, you will have to contact Discord to have their account closed securely. 

Also, Read | How To Get All Discord Party Mode Achievements? The Ultimate Guide!

4# What Happens After You Permanently Delete Discord Account?

What Happens After You Permanently Delete Discord Account?

You must have thought about what happens to your account once you’ve permanently deleted it. You must have thought about what happens to all the messages you have sent. Can other people still read them? Is your username still visible? One thinks about these common questions before or after deleting a Disord account. 

So, once you delete your account, your username changes to “discorduser#0000”. However, all of your messages and pictures that you’ve shared will remain. 

5# Can You Get Your Permanently Deleted Discord Account Back?

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

After you delete your account, your account will be in a “pending deletion” stage for two weeks. If you attempt to log in to your account before that, a dialogue box will appear to ask if you want to restore your account. If you restore your account, the deletion process will stop. 

6# How Long Does It Take To Permanently Delete Discord Account?

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

If you don’t try to restore your account in the two-week window, you will lose all access to your previous account. And your username will change to “Deleted User,” along with some numbers and letters that don’t make sense. 

Note that this is irreversible.

7# Things To Remember Before Deleting A Discord Account

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account | Read Easy To Follow Steps Here! 

Okay, stop! Don’t rush to delete your account. There are a few things that you should know before. Although the deletion process is fairly simple, there are some prerequisites that need to be taken care of. And, it’s crucial to be aware of them to avoid any harm. For example, make sure that you’re not the owner of any server on Discord. Be very sure about your decision to delete the account because it will not be recovered. 

Also, the username for the deleted Discord account will be prohibited from future use. 

Also, Read | How To Stop Discord From Opening On Startup? We’ll Help You With That!

Final Words

Alright, folks! This was EVERYTHING that you needed to know about how to permanently delete your Discord account! But if you have any questions, do ask me in the comment section below. I’ll be happy to clear out any doubts you might have!

Cherry Sharma
Cherry Sharma
Cherry is a Vocational English student, passionate about psychology, and an advocate of mental health. She has a deep love for literature and storytelling. Writing is the only thing that makes her see a sense of the thousands of thoughts she has. On Viebly, she combines her love for the three to write interesting articles. In her free time, you can catch her making and playing stories in her head, trying some fancy DIY, tending to her plants, or reading a good book. She mostly prefers thrillers but is still a Potterhead at heart.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here