It’s 2022 and privacy is all we care about. That is why Snapchat is one of the most preferred social media platforms for most people right now. Sharing pictures on snap is easy to do and you have the peace of mind no one’s keeping them without your permission. Talking about privacy today, we want to talk about how to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat or not.
Every time you take a screenshot of someone’s chat on Snapchat or save their picture or video, Snapchat notifies the other person. If you don’t know the other person well enough, this comes off as creepy. Hence the element of privacy is maintained. While Snapchat has come under fire for its violation of certain BIPA laws, its popularity still remains strong as ever.
So, how to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat? Well, there is good news and bad news. Until 2018, Snapchat did actually let you see who viewed your location and live location. But since then Snapchat has gotten tons of updates and now you can’t really tell if someone has checked your location on Snapchat.
People who have a Snapchat+ account also have access to a feature called Ghost Trails. The feature not only tells them about their friend’s current location but their location history as well. So if you were debating between Snapchat and Snapchat plus, this should be enough to convince you. Anyway, back to how to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat!
Table of Contents
How To Tell If Someone Checked Your Location On Snapchat | All You Need To Know!
In our bid to understand how to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat, you should know how location settings work in Snapchat. The snap map feature on Snapchat has long been the best part of it. It lets you see where you are on the map and who you’re surrounded with. It’s a great way to see the density of people using Snap in your location.
If you’re trying to be a Snapchat creator and have been trying to get your content public, then this is a great feature to have. Snapchat lets you share your location with your friends, with some selected few, or with everyone in public. Don’t worry, if you don’t want to share your location at all, you can turn off this feature on Snap map completely. You will still be able to check the location of your friends if they choose to share it with you.
So How To Check The Location Of Someone On Snapchat? Location 101!
Snapchat’s location feature isn’t creepy at all. And you don’t just have to be a creator to be able to make the most of it. We have heard of so many situations where locations on Snap map helped locate missing people. So if you’re a very sociable person, consider keeping it switched on and sharing your location with friends at all times.
We also need to learn how to check the location of someone on Snapchat. So if you’re someone who’s new to the platform, then check out the steps you need to follow below!
- On your iPhone or your Android, open the Snapchat app.
- On your Snapchat home screen go to the map page. You can find it by swiping to the right or just selecting the icon at the bottom of the page.
- The Snap map window will open. If you haven’t turned on your location by now, it will ask you to turn it on to show your location on the map. If you have your location turned on, then you will be able to find yourself on the map with relative accuracy.
- Also, your location as well as the location of your friends will be shown with the bitmoji avatars on the map. These bitmojis change according to the change your friends make, so don’t worry too much about it. You can always click on them and access your friend’s profile easily!
That’s it! This is how easy it is to check the location of someone on Snapchat! The Snap map will show you the region, the location, the time as well as the weather of the place they are in. It is all real-time, so it’s mostly accurate. Also, if you have a lot of friends and all of them are sharing their location, then it might be a bit crowded. In that situation, tap on the friends bar up top and search for your friend by their username.
How To Tell If Someone Checked Your Location On Snapchat
There is technically no way to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat. Not like the way you’re notified by who watched your stories or snaps at least. If you have turned your location on and are sharing it with your friends, then those who are online will have seen your location as well.
Similarly, if you’re only sharing your location with a selected few then you can assume they have seen your location as well. Snapchat does not unfortunately notify you when your location was checked out. It also does not show the list of people who actively viewed your location. Will it be something you’re interested in and want as a feature? Who knows, maybe Snapchat will bring this feature back!
If you’re a creator or have a large following and subscribers on Snapchat, then keeping your location public at all times is risky. There is no way to identify who is stalking you and who means well and who means harm. You can choose to share your location publicly when you’re at a public place in order for your snap to appear on the Snap map.
So there you have it, folks! We hope now you know how to tell if someone checked your location on Snapchat! If this feature is highly requested, Snapchat might bring it back just like before 2018. Till then you will have to make sure you update to the latest version of the app and stay ahead of the curve on all the news!
Why would someone’s snap location disappear?
All the actions on the Snap map are in real-time. So if your friend is sharing their location on the map but hasn’t opened the app in eight hours, their location will disappear. It is also possible your friend chose to not share their location anymore.
Can someone tell if you’re checking their location on Snapchat?
No, just like you’re not notified if someone checked your location, similarly Snapchat doesn’t notify anyone when you check the location of a friend. However if someone has turned their location off and you request to see it, they will be notified of this.
What is a ghost trail on Snapchat?
Ghost Trail is a Snapchat+ feature that allows subscribers to see where their friends have traveled over the past 24 hours on Snap Map.