There are just so many features on Instagram, that it can be hard for even the most avid users to wrap their heads around them. But, it’s no surprise that once you know the meanings of those seemingly unknown features, your Instagram usage becomes 10x better. So, I’ll be teaching you everything you need to learn and more. In this article, we’ll see what does requested mean on Instagram. Keep scrolling!
Table of Contents
Find Out What Does Requested Mean On Instagram Here | Read This To Know The Meaning Of Requested!
I’m sure you must have come across “Requested” on Instagram plenty of times. And, this must have happened after you sent a follow request to someone. So yes, the “Requested” thing that you keep seeing on Instagram is somehow related to sending follow requests. But, this is just a hint and not the whole deal. If you want to know what does requested mean on Instagram in a bit more detail, make sure to read this post till the end!
What Does Requested Mean On Instagram
So, the whole point of Instagram or any other social media platform is to keep people connected. For this reason, Instagram allows users to follow each other on the platform. Once you start following someone, their posts and stories will appear in your feed regularly. You will be able to interact with them in a much better way as well.
However, there’s a catch. Instagram is mindful of people’s privacy. It understands that not all users are going to be okay with completely random strangers seeing their posts or following them. That’s why Instagram has different kinds of accounts– Public accounts and Private accounts. Both of these have their own usage, merits, demerits, etc.
People get to choose which account they want to have. Instagram businesses, famous people, or other celebrities mostly choose public accounts. Other users get the option of choosing it as well. Whereas, Private accounts are chosen by people who are a bit more concerned about their privacy and don’t want everyone on Instagram to have access to their account.
Now, anybody can start following a Public account by simply tapping on the Blue follow button located on that person’s profile. But, the same is not the case with a private account. You have to send a “Follow Request” that has to be approved by the account owner. Only and only then you can start following them.
So, when you tap on the blue follow button on a private account, the blue button then says “Requested”. This essentially means that your follow request has been sent to the account owner. You will be able to see their posts and stories after they approve it. And until they don’t do it, you will keep seeing “Requested” on their profile.
You can still contact them, though. You can send them a message request to let them know who you are or why you’d want to follow them on Instagram. In fact, doing this can increase the likelihood of you getting your follow request approved.
Okay, everyone! This is what does requested mean on Instagram. In this article, we looked at the meaning of that “Requested” mark that you keep seeing on Instagram. We also successfully understood what it has got to do with the follow requests that you send on the gram! But, in case you still have any doubts regarding the meaning or usage of “requested”, feel free to drop it in the comments section!
How do you know when someone requested you on Instagram?
If someone requests to follow you on Instagram, then you’ll be receiving a notification of the same on your phone. But, this will only happen when you’ve got your Notifications turned on. If you want to see your other requests on Instagram, then you can do so by tapping on the hearts icon located at the top right of your main screen.
How long does it say requested on Instagram?
There’s no expiration date to follow requests sent on Instagram. Your request is never going to be deleted or removed by Instagram. It is going to say “Requested” for as long as it takes the other person to accept your follow request.
Why does someone ignore your Instagram request?
There are plenty of reasons why someone may not be responding to your request.. For example, it’s highly likely that they have not seen it. This can be because they don’t use Instagram much or have taken a break from the app. It is also possible that they don’t want to be friends with you on Instagram.
What happens if someone rejects your Instagram request?
If someone rejects your Instagram request, you’re not going to be notified of the same. The request that you sent will be deleted.