Did you get into an awkward situation with someone on social media? And the situation escalated quickly? So much so that you think they might have restricted you on Instagram? But have they really done that or are you just misreading the signs? I know you’re in a very unsure situation. But once you understand how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit, you can have a little more clarity, so keep reading!
Instagram is known for its privacy features. You can create an anonymous account, block someone from seeing your posts, delete comments to keep the account clean, and whatnot. The restrict feature is one of the many such privacy features. If you don’t want to interact with someone on the gram but can’t block them outrightly, then the restrict features come in handy.
When someone restricts you on Instagram, your access to them gets limited. If you want to understand more about what happens when someone restricts you, just keep reading. And by the end, you’ll have an answer to your question–how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit.
Table of Contents
Here’s How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Reddit | Learn 3 Best Ways Here!
So, how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit? What is the guarantee that you’ve really been restricted and not blocked? Well, you need to understand that you are being restricted and not blocked. When someone blocks you on Instagram, you can no longer view their profile. All you will see is their profile, number of followers, and following.
Whereas, a restricted account can see all regular posts, stories, etc. The account holder can also see comments on posts and even leave one! A restricted user can also send DMs without any hassle to the person who restricted them. However, the messages that they send are going to appear as message requests.
So, these are some of the instrumental differences between being blocked and restricted. But if you want to find out how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit in greater detail, then keep reading!
How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Reddit By Checking Comment Section?
The restrict feature on Instagram was primarily introduced to tackle cyberbullying. When you comment on the posts of a person who has restricted you, everything will seem ordinary to you. But, actually, your comments are going to be hidden from all the other users who comment on their posts.
Plus, the person who has restricted your account, will see your new comments–but under a ‘restrict comment’ tag. Your comment will only become public if they choose to approve it. But, if they don’t, your comment is going to stay hidden from everyone else. Only the other person and you will be able to see it.
So, to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram, try leaving a comment on any one of their posts. Your comment will appear just like everyone else’s comments. But, try to view the same post with the same comment from your second Instagram account or maybe from some mutual friend’s account. Also, make sure to do it straight away– before the user who restricted you has the time to approve your comment.
If your comment is not visible to you from your other account, then there’s a healthy chance that you’ve been restricted by the user.
How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Reddit By Sending A DM?
You can find out if someone has restricted you on Instagram by trying to send them a DM. When you have been restricted, any message that you send to the user goes in their ‘Message Requests’ section instead of the regular chat. Plus, the user who restricted you won’t get any notifications of your messages.
You too won’t get a ‘Seen’ receipt until they choose to ‘Approve’ your messages manually even after them having read your message otherwise. So, try sending a message to the person you think has restricted you on social media. If they are not replying to your message for long time despite being active, then what you’re thinking may be true.
How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram Reddit By Checking Activity Status?
You can find out if someone restricted you on Instagram by checking their activity status. If you could earlier see someone’s activity status on Instagram but you can’t see anymore, then it may be a sign that you’ve been restricted. This means you can’t find out the last time they came online on Instagram or check their DMs.
But, to check someone’s activity status you need to first ensure that yours is turned on too. If it is not, then go to Settings. From their tap on the Privacy section and toggle the Activity Status on.
Now, if you can’t see someone’s last active status on Instagram even though they have been actively posting, then it’s a good sign that they have restricted you. Or.. wait. What if they too have switched off their Activity status for reasons you do not know?
So, if the two of you have got mutual friends, then you can ask any one of them to check if they can see this person’s last active status. If they can and you can’t then you don’t need any other confirmation. Yes, you’ve been restricted on Instagram.
So, this was how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit! I hope you found this article insightful! I hope you were able to understand if you’ve been restricted or not. And if really have been restricted then it would be wise to respect the other person’s decision and their need for boundaries!
If you’ve got a friend who finds themselves in a similar kind of unsure situation, share this article with them! Understanding how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram Reddit will help them gain some clarity!
Can A Restricted Person See My Stories?
Yes, a restricted person can see your stories. By restricting someone’s account you limit their interaction on your posts and messages only.
Is Restrict The Same As Mute On Instagram?
Muting on Instagram is done from the three dots that appear on someone’s posts. Whereas, to restrict someone, you’ve to open their full profile. Plus, when you restrict someone on Instagram, you’ve the option to screen someone’s comments before approving them for the world to see.
What Is Soft Blocking On Instagram?
When you block someone on Instagram and immediately unblock them, it is called soft blocking. When you do this, you’re immediately making the other person unfollow you without them noticing it. But, in case they confront you about it, you can say that it was an error. And, they will never know.
How Can I Hide My Instagram From Someone Without Blocking Them?
You can hide your Instagram from someone without blocking them by setting your Instagram account to private. For this, go to your profile and then open settings. Under Privacy and Security, you will find the Private Account option. Toggle it on.