How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You’re Done With GroupMe!

Related

I heard you’re done with your GroupMe account. Are the rumors true? If I am to believe the rumors, then well, I’m sure you must have had your reasons. And it’s not right for me to be judgmental about them. Instead, I’ll tell you how to delete GroupMe account. Because that’s how good friends help. 

But, I can’t help but wonder why the need to delete your GroupMe account arose. Because GroupMe is a pretty popular messaging service by Microsoft. So many of its features are similar to those of its competitors. It also has some unique features of its own. For example, each group is assigned a unique number. And to start a conference call, all you have to do is tap on that number and then press 1. By doing so, each participant of the group will receive a call. 

How to delete your IMVU Account?
How to delete your IMVU Account?

GroupMe’s competitors like Whatsapp only allow up to 8 members in a group call. But with GroupMe, you can have up to 500 members! I know that many members can make a call chaotic, but that’s not the point. 

GroupMe’s features don’t end here. Using GroupMe, you can send texts without using your carrier’s limit. If you’re using a cellular plan with a limited number of texts, that is saying something. One big advantage that GroupMe has over other messaging services is that the app allows you to send texts to people who don’t have the app installed. Although, the process isn’t as smooth as it appears on the surface. Because GroupMe will constantly pester them to download the app.

 So, let’s get back to where we started–deleting the GroupMe account.  

Here’s How To Delete Your GroupMe Account | Fast And Easy Method!

GroupMe is a convenient messaging service for group chats and calls compared to WhatsApp and its alternatives. However, it comes with its fair share of demerits. GroupMe doesn’t even offer basic end-to-end chat encryption if we talk about privacy and security. And not just that, your data is used by GroupMe to help Microsoft target its ads at you. All of this is brushed off by them under the pretext of providing a more satisfying experience. 

But, I think you didn’t buy those reasons, and you were concerned about your privacy and security. It’s understandable. I, too, wouldn’t want anyone to snoop on my chats for whatever reasons. 

So, scroll down this article to the bottom to know how to delete your Groupme account on various devices. 

Also, Read | How To Permanently Delete Your Kik Account | Well, It’s Not A Difficult Task!

1# How To Delete GroupMe Account Using Windows

How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You're Done With GroupMe!

To delete your GroupMe account using Windows, follow the below-mentioned steps:

  • Open GroupMe. 
  • Click on your avatar. It represents your profile. 
  • Then select the pencil icon. 
  • It will take you to the edit profile page. 
  • Click on the Delete GroupMe Account option. 
  • If you don’t own any groups, a final confirmation screen will appear on your screen. Select “Delete” from there. \

However, if you own any groups, you’ll be first asked to transfer the group’s ownership or end it before deleting your account. Here’s how to do it:

  • Tap on “Transfer.” 
  • The next screen will appear, and you will have to select a new owner from all members in the group list. 
  • Alternatively, you can end the group by selecting “End Group.” 
  • You’ll have to repeat the process for each group that you own. 
  • After it’s done, you’ll be taken to the “Edit Profile” screen. 
  • Tap on “Delete GroupMe Account” again. 

By following these steps, you will be logged out of your GroupMe account, and it will be scheduled for deletion. 

2# How To Delete GroupMe Account Using Android

How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You're Done With GroupMe!

Here’s how to delete your GroupMe account using android:

  • Open the GroupMe app on your device. 
  • Tap on the three vertical bars present on the top left of the screen. They represent the menu. 
  • Tap on your profile. 
  • The Profile page will open.
  • Tap on the edit icon that is represented by a pencil. 
  • Tap on “Delete GroupMe Account.” 
  • If you don’t own any groups, a final confirmation screen will appear on your screen. 
  • Select Delete. 
  • However, if you own any groups, you’ll be first asked to transfer the group’s ownership or end it before deleting your account. Follow the above-mentioned steps to do it. 

By following these steps, you will be logged out of your GroupMe account, and it will be scheduled for deletion. 

3# How To Delete GroupMe Account Using iOS

How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You're Done With GroupMe!

To delete your GroupMe account using iOS, follow the below-mentioned steps:

  • Open the GroupMe app. 
  • Tap on the three horizontal lines located at the top. 
  • Tap on your avatar, i.e., your profile icon located on the top left. 
  • Scroll down to the “Delete GroupMe Account” option. 
  • Tap on it. 
  • Tap on “Continue” to proceed with your account deletion. You might be asked to enter your password. 
  • If you’re the owner of a group, you’ll be first asked to transfer the group’s ownership or end it before deleting your account. Follow the steps mentioned above to do that. 

That’s it. You’ll be logged out of GroupMe. Your GroupMe account will be scheduled for deletion. 

If you also want to remove the app from your iOS device, press and hold your finger on the GroupMe app. A small “x” mark will appear on the top left side of the app icon. Click on it, and the app will be uninstalled.  

4# How To Delete GroupMe Account Using Web Browser

How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You're Done With GroupMe!

Here’s how to delete your GroupMe Account using Web Browser:

  • Go to GroupMe’s website. 
  • Sign in to your account. 
  • Click on your avatar, i.e., profile picture. 
  • You’ll then be led to editing the profile page. 
  • Select the “Delete GroupMe Account” option. 
  • A confirmation screen will appear. Select “Continue”. 
  • You might be asked to enter your password too. 
  • If you don’t own any groups, a final confirmation screen will appear. Select “Delete” from it. 
  • If you own any groups, you will be asked to transfer the ownership first. Follow the above-mentioned steps to do that. 

After all this, you will be logged out of your GroupMe account, and it will be marked for deletion. 

5# What If…You Want Your Account Back? 

How To Delete GroupMe Account? Do This When You're Done With GroupMe!

What if you’ve a change of mind or heart and want your GroupMe account back? There’s a way to reactivate your deleted account. Although, it can only happen within 48 hours of account deletion. After the 48-hour window, your account cannot be reactivated. 

For this, you can just log in to your GroupMe account again. Your account deletion request will get canceled. 

Also, Read | How To Delete Poshmark Account? Mark An End To Your Trading Business!

Final Words

This was how to delete your GroupMe account. I hope you found this article in getting rid of your account. Let me know which method you used! I’ve also shared what to do if you’ve a change of heart and want your account back. Although, I hope that a change of heart happens within 48 hours of account deletion. You already know why. 

Stay tuned with us for more instructive articles! 

Cherry Sharma
Cherry Sharma
Cherry is a Vocational English student, passionate about psychology, and an advocate of mental health. She has a deep love for literature and storytelling. Writing is the only thing that makes her see a sense of the thousands of thoughts she has. On Viebly, she combines her love for the three to write interesting articles. In her free time, you can catch her making and playing stories in her head, trying some fancy DIY, tending to her plants, or reading a good book. She mostly prefers thrillers but is still a Potterhead at heart.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here